And the winners are…

We’ve announced the six annual winners of the 2020 / 2021 CEO and COO Awards

We have announced the six winners of our annual CEO and COO Awards.

The CEO and COO Awards recognise the excellence of our highest-performing units and are sponsored by our CEO, Simon Thompson, and COO, Achim Dünnwald.

The awards take place throughout the year – with quarterly awards for excellence being presented every three months by service delivery leaders across all of our regions.

The annual awards reward those units that have gone above and beyond to deliver excellence on a national level.

All CEO and COO Awards are data driven – except the Special Recognition Reward, in which colleagues vote to choose the winner. 

Units are judged on five key measures - safety, First-Class quality, cost, productivity and parcel composite. Winners receive a visit from either Simon or Achim and a prize of £10,000 to spend on improvements to their unit.

CEO, Simon Thompson, said: ‘After such a challenging and busy year for Royal Mail, I am delighted to be able to announce the winners of the annual CEO and COO Awards for 2020 / 2021.

‘The teams at these six units have gone above and beyond in the face of the unknown to deliver outstanding results.

‘I send my heartfelt congratulations to this year’s winners, and Achim and I look forward to meeting and talking with some of you very soon.’


2020 / 2021 Annual Awards: the winners


Large delivery office of the year: Llandrindod Wells Delivery Office

Small delivery office of the year: Penicuik Delivery Office

Most improved delivery office of the year: Dingwall Delivery Office

National operations unit of the year: North West Distribution Centre

Parcelforce depot of the year: Glasgow

Special recognition award: Barnsley Delivery Office (winners voted for by colleagues)

1 Jul 2021